Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   HELP!! New Hard Drive. Need help installing OS on it please. (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/253969-help-new-hard-drive-need-help-installing-os-please.html)

Hogger 10-17-2011 08:22 PM

HELP!! New Hard Drive. Need help installing OS on it please.
 
I've searched all over here, and found some good info, but couldn't find the same problem I'm having.
I think the CD drive in my Macbook is toast. It keeps spitting out disks when I try to put them in and start the computer pushing the "C" key.

I was able to start the MacBook in the mode when you press the "T" key. I used another computer to format the drive with Disk Utility through a firewire. Formatted as 1 partition journaled. I then copied the install disks 1 and 2 of OS X 10.2 onto the MacBook HD. This is the only version I have, I'll upgrade once I can get something to work.
When starting the MacBook and pressing the "C" key, all I get is an image of a file folder with a question mark.

Did I miss a step?
What am I doing wrong?

chscag 10-17-2011 09:51 PM

Quote:

Did I miss a step?
What am I doing wrong?
You can't install OS X 10.2 on a MacBook. You need the original disks that came with the machine or a later retail version of OS X. What year model is your MacBook?

Hogger 10-17-2011 10:02 PM

Looks like it's from sometime between May 16th and Nov. 8th 2006.
I bought it used as a return item... Without the discs obviously.

How do I load a retail version on it with a bad CD drive?

chscag 10-17-2011 10:33 PM

The MacBook originally came pre-installed with Tiger (OS X 10.4) so you will need at least that or a later version. You can do the same thing you did with OS X 10.2 once you get the correct disks for your machine. Otherwise you have no other choice but to install a new optical drive.

Hogger 10-19-2011 12:08 AM

I GOT IT!! Might not be the best way, but it was the only way I could figure out.

Downloaded SuperDuper on the first computer, and while in target disk mode, I copied the entire contents of the hard drive on my mom's computer onto mine. Fortunately she doesn't have much on there.
I ejected my HD from her computer, and turned mine off. I then hit the power button, and crossed my fingers.
It loaded up perfectly. Just had to change some passwords, and authorities.
Now to go through and clean off what I don't want, and re-set all my bookmarks, etc...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.