Trackpad out of control, icons missing
    Hi, I've been using my mac smoothly for 14 months. But until recently it has been acting very weird. Here's the sequence of events:

1. Parts of the track pad stopped working (I can only use the bottom half)

I restarted the computer.

2. Then the cursor jumps around (even with a mouse)
    3. It starts clicking and right clicking on its own

I freaked out, so I ran a software update, and managed to use Disk Utility to verify and repair disks then restart.

4. The track pad seems to be working better (but a little jumpy at times), BUT all the basic icons are gone (e.g. Applications folder and downloads folder becomes a "?" while other folders on the desktop appear invisible)
    5. I went to CandyBar (an icon modification app). But under "General Icons", there isn't even anything to replace. Like usually there'll be the normal default icon, so I can simply drag and drop a modified icon over it.
    6. The cursor is jumpy again, it keeps selecting stuff and clicking stuff.

Background: Macbook Pro 13" Version 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. Memory: 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3.

I recently installed a torrent app called frostwire. It doesn't seem safe, considering the last I downloaded limewire on my PC, it gave me a bunch of nasty viruses. Could this be a virus issue?

Please help!

Thanks for the replies. So its probably not a malware/virus problem.

Here's an update:

1. The trackpad seems to be working normally now, but after 30 mins or so it'll start clicking and moving erratically again. Sometimes, parts of the trackpad just doesn't work: Here's an example (this is a chinese writing pad I used to test the trackpad)

I tried moving it around and found an unresponsive band on the trackpad (top section)

This is me drawing a diagonal. You can see it doing weird stuff on top and again near the bottom.