New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Trackpad out of control, icons missing

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

314Jason

314Jason is on a distinguished road

Hi, I've been using my mac smoothly for 14 months. But until recently it has been acting very weird. Here's the sequence of events:

1. Parts of the track pad stopped working (I can only use the bottom half)

I restarted the computer.

2. Then the cursor jumps around (even with a mouse)
3. It starts clicking and right clicking on its own

I freaked out, so I ran a software update, and managed to use Disk Utility to verify and repair disks then restart.

4. The track pad seems to be working better (but a little jumpy at times), BUT all the basic icons are gone (e.g. Applications folder and downloads folder becomes a "?" while other folders on the desktop appear invisible)
5. I went to CandyBar (an icon modification app). But under "General Icons", there isn't even anything to replace. Like usually there'll be the normal default icon, so I can simply drag and drop a modified icon over it.
6. The cursor is jumpy again, it keeps selecting stuff and clicking stuff.

Background: Macbook Pro 13" Version 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. Memory: 4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3.