Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Mac Pro screen Anomalies (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/252525-mac-pro-screen-anomalies.html)

TeamLightning2 10-05-2011 08:49 PM

Mac Pro screen Anomalies
 
2 Attachment(s)
The other day my Mac Pro screen screwed up and got a bunch of anomalies all across it. I could see the mouse moving but the computer was unresponsive. I turned it off and back on but as soon as the gray screen came on I could see the anomalies again. My first thought was that my screen had something wrong so I tried a different screen and it did the same thing. After letting it sit overnight it finally booted without any anomalies but only lasted for a few minutes before the anomalies came back. I am not sure if this is a hardware or software problem. I think it might be the graphics card getting hot but I am not sure. When the problem started I had not installed any new hardware or software. I have attached some pictures I took with my phone of the screen. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

chscag 10-05-2011 08:56 PM

It does look like your graphics card is acting up. Do you have another that you can swap out to test with? Which graphics card do you have installed?

TeamLightning2 10-05-2011 10:41 PM

No, I don't have another card to swap it with (I wish I did). I have an ATI Radeon HD 2600 card.

chscag 10-05-2011 11:47 PM

That's a rather expensive card to have an extra one laying around. I just looked it up with some on line retailers and it sells for around $260. I don't know any other way to test it though without using substitution. You may be able to run the Apple Hardware Test and possibly find out if the card is acting up.

bfwesley 10-06-2011 01:09 AM

OSX Lion Screen Anomalies
 
Hey what computer and operating system do you use? I've had the same albeit to a lesser extend anomalies with my MacBook Pro 13" 2009 version after updating to OSX Lion from Snowleopard and restoring from a backup afterwards.

Nobody I see has had similar issues and if they did they just re-installed the system and it worked fine. I'm not willing to do that though and rather figure out whats wrong.

With my computer that only happened after waking up from sleep or hibernation though.

TeamLightning2 10-06-2011 08:56 AM

It is a Mac Pro running Snowleopard. I have had the computer for 3 to 4 years now and this is the first problem I have had.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.