New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Network Drive Search?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

philbeckett

philbeckett is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: MacBook Pro i7 Quadcore 15"

Hi, newbie here. Been al around the web looking for an answer to this one...

I have a WD Network Drive, I can access it fine, it's there in the sidebar of Finder but I can't seem to search it for particular files etc. (I click on it, then click on 'shared' folder on the WD and type a file name in the search field, but when hitting return 'Searching This Mac' is displayed), any ideas please, I've pasted below some info that was on here from a long time ago by the looks of it but I need a more step by step explanation of the process, thanks in advance for any help with this issue, best wishes, Phil.

USE THE TERMINAL OPTION mdutil.
It has a switch, -i, to enable indexing on a volume. So I just went ahead as root (sudo bash) and ran:
sudo bash. (my network drive example is named "ldm" so replace ldm by your network drive name)
mdutil /Volumes/ldm -i on
Then I checked the status with
mdutil /Volumes/ldm -s
And, behold ... I got back the following:
/Volumes/ldm/: