New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Airport clarification

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Spikepit

Spikepit is on a distinguished road

Hi all. i am new to Apple products ... computers in general and am paranoid about something. My internet usage is being used quicker than it should be and then I find this 'Airport' thing (which I assume is the same as Wireless Network Connections on my PC at work?) and it has a list of other names in it.

Some of the names on the list I know as my neighbours some I don't know. SO I'm wondering what is this list exactly? So my question is, are:

~these other people I can talk to some how on my mac.
~the names just a list of people in my network (like on the PC at work) or worse (and most importantly what Im worried about)
~these the names of people that are using up my internet?!?!?!?!

Thank you in advance.
QUOTE Thanks
Lifeisabeach

Lifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond reputeLifeisabeach has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: iMac i3 (mid-2010) + OS 10.9; TV 3; iPhone 5S; iPad 4

Quote: