New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Problems after update to OS X 10.6.8

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mjleedam

mjleedam is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Mac Mini 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo; 2GB 1067 MHz DDR3

I am a relative newbie to macs and this is the first problem I have encountered.

I was prompted to upgrade the OS X yesterday to 10.6.8 so this I did.

During the process I was prompted to perform a manual restart by holding down the power button and then restarting.

Following the restart, I got an error message: Finder quit unexpectedly.
On clicking "OK" the same error window appears ad infinitum (actually, I got fed up clicking after about 30 tries).

Most programs won't load; and in the ones that do, I can't type any text as the error box takes priority for text entry.

I have tried reinstalling from the supplied CD, but because Finder won't load I can't access any CD files.

The error box even takes priority over the terminal window.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Cheers!
QUOTE Thanks
MYmacROX

MYmacROX is a name known to allMYmacROX is a name known to allMYmacROX is a name known to allMYmacROX is a name known to allMYmacROX is a name known to allMYmacROX is a name known to allMYmacROX is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 2008 15" MBP ML, 2012 21.5" iMac ML