New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Help! How do i install os on new macbook hard drive!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

thalco

thalco is on a distinguished road

Old hard drive crashed. Bought/installed new hard drive. How do I install OSX Snow Leopard on new hard drive? I am absolute novice with MAC...
QUOTE Thanks
Zigdog

Zigdog is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: Macbook Pro, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD

You need the two disks that came with you mac.
Insert the one labelled install disk one into the laptop then start it up.
From there it's simple onscreen instructions as far as I remember.

Let us know how you get on
Zigdog
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3

pigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond reputepigoo3 has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 13" MB 2.4ghz, 2gig ram, OS 10.7.5

Don't forget that you may also need to format the new HD. As Zigdog mentioned:

- you need boot your computer (insert disk, hold down "c" key) from the gray disk #1 that came with your Mac when new (or a compatible full install OS disk)