Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Firefox in two Spaces? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/241037-firefox-two-spaces.html)

Sawday 06-11-2011 05:33 AM

Firefox in two Spaces?
 
A recent post regarding Spaces got me to relook at this feature. To be useable for me I need Firefox in both Spaces but I cannot appear to do this. I could run Firefox in one Space and Safari in another. This is a bit of a cluge but is workable.

However, I then found I need Excel in both Spaces too - same problem. Unless I run one version of Excel in one Space and an earlier version of Excel or, say, Numbers in the other but then it starts getting silly.

Is there any way around this restriction? It would make Spaces so much more usable for me.

bobtomay 06-11-2011 05:37 AM

?? Do not use MS Office on my Macs.
Don't use Spaces either.

Can you open two Excel or FF windows in one space?
Then move one of the windows to the 2nd space.

Sawday 06-11-2011 05:54 AM

Bobtomay - Brilliant. Works a treat. The best answers are always (well... not always) the simple ones. Many thanks.

BrianLachoreVPI 06-11-2011 08:52 AM

If you go to go to System Preferences, then Exposť and Spaces, if you deselect "When switching to an application, switch to a space with open windows for the application" - you can then be in the desired space - hit cmd-space to bring up spotlight - type firefox - and you'll see the firefox menu bar in that space. You can then open a new window - without manually moving from space to space.

This doesn't seem to work for excel - but there are ways to open multiple fully independent instances of other applications from Terminal - if you want to got that route.

hw96Lgb 06-11-2011 09:02 AM

Simply click and hold on a window then press the space shortcuts and the window will be dragged kicking and screaming into the new space.

toMACsh 06-11-2011 05:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sawday (Post 1250941)
A recent post regarding Spaces got me to relook at this feature. To be useable for me I need Firefox in both Spaces

That's sort of what tabs do for you isn't it?

Sawday 06-14-2011 01:20 PM

Not exactly. In one space I wanted the apps needed for a current work related project (excel,word and firefox), in another I had more personal stuff (firefox, excel) and also iphoto, Photoshop Elements...

toMACsh 06-14-2011 07:26 PM

I see. But I don't see anything wrong with using two browsers. That's what I do at work. One is for work-related sites, the other is for lunch time personal e-mail, and, of course, Mac Forums.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:55 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.