New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Snow leopard restore without discs

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

kylemalco

kylemalco is on a distinguished road

Im a newbie here found the site through google, there where a few posts along the lines of what I was looking, but not quite.

I bought a macbook pro 13inch of ebay about 8 months ago and its running well problem is it didnt come with any discs and now I am looking to sell it on to upgrade.

Is it possible to completely clean all my details from the macbook by adding a new admin user and deleting my user?

Thanks
QUOTE Thanks
6string

6string is a splendid one to behold6string is a splendid one to behold6string is a splendid one to behold6string is a splendid one to behold6string is a splendid one to behold6string is a splendid one to behold6string is a splendid one to behold6string is a splendid one to behold
Mac Specs: Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)

It's not the ideal way to go but yes, you can do that.
You also have other options (as it is always better to sell with original media).
Best option is to call Apple 800 number, and for around $20 they will send you out replacement discs.
Other option is to purchase Snow Leopard for $29. Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard - Apple Store (U.S.)

http://www.apple.com/contact/
QUOTE Thanks
kylemalco

kylemalco is on a distinguished road