New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Mac Pro will only boot in safe mode, will only type capital letters and hangs.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

mymacpro

mymacpro is on a distinguished road

Hi everyone, hope someone can help.

I've been using a Mac pro from new for just over 3 years. It has run like a dream every day without one single problem until yesterday.

The only thing that I have done was installed an update to macscan which I have done a number of times previously without incident so don't think that has anything to do with it.

Anyway, when I logged on as usual yesterday morning, everything was fine and normal except that I noticed that on nearly every forum I visited, a line ran through all the link text on all pages I visited, like the words were crossed out. Nothing else was wrong until suddenly, at about 9pm my keyboard would only type capital letters regardless of caps lock on or off. I quickly restarted my Mac but for the first time in 3 yeas it automatically started in safe mode, and once in, is terribly slow, unresponsive, hangs, freezes and crashes etc. I've read up and gone through everything advised on the forums apart from doing a full reinstall which I may have to do tomorrow. Have any of you guys heard of this problem before and any idea of what the issue might be? Could I have been hacked or something?

Thanks for your time.
QUOTE Thanks
Stretch