New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

best practices/applications for speeding up/cleaning up my macbook?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

bamme

bamme is on a distinguished road

I have a macbook Pro (not the newest version) running os 10.5.8]
I am a graphic/interface designer so I mostly run Adobe creative suite, browse the internet a lot, download a lot. I don't store a huge amount of rich media on my mac (intentionally, unsure if temporary internet files or similar store these..) but do have quite a lot of music.

I have 43.99 GB of remaining 'space' on my mac.
my mac is starting to run slower, im starting to notice - it takes a good 5 minutes now to load photoshop. Ive cleared up a lot of the stuff I was visibly storing (folders/files within my user directory really, applications id installed, etc) and i delete my trash and browsing history.
i also have vmware installed, running windows on a partition, but ive had it that way for a long time without recent slowing. i do the same running vmware; delete the trash and browsing history, use add/remove programs in my windows control panel to ensure no unnecessary programs stay.
but am wondering if i can do anything else to help?? i remember with my pc i had a disk cleanup sort of program.