New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Question About How To Free Up Space on Macbook

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

scoochamenz

scoochamenz is on a distinguished road

Hi, I'm pretty new to Mac so please forgive me if I come off sounding like a moron.

Basically, I am trying to free up gigs on my Macbook. In looking in all my spots like Documents, Movies, Music, Pictures, Etc. I've figured out how many of my machine's 116 gb's are in each one using the 'Get Info' tab. In an effort to get my mac to speed up, I decided to store my movies and documents on USB Flash Drives to free up space.

Now, this worked great with the movies. But with the Documents, even after emptying all the contents of the Documents folder, my 'Get Info' tab tells me that there are still 12 gb's in that folder. But where, if it's empty?

Does anyone know why there seem to be 12 precious gb's hidden somewhere that I cannot see?

Thank you!
QUOTE Thanks
Janus 006

Janus 006 is on a distinguished road
Mac Specs: 21.5" iMac, 10.7.2, 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5, 8GB RAM, 500GB HD; iPhone 4S 16GB

You might want to try Disk Inventory X: Disk Inventory X

It'll scan your entire hard drive and break down all your used space. Very handy.
QUOTE Thanks
chscag