Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Using Migration Assistant (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/229138-using-migration-assistant.html)

rico567 02-09-2011 10:03 PM

Using Migration Assistant
 
I'm trying to use Migration Assistant to go from an early Intel iMac to a brand new iMac. I have followed all upgrade directions given in the Apple Support Bulletin. The old machine is running OSX 10.4.11, as recommended, and the new one OSX 10.6.6. The helper update has been downloaded and installed for the older machine.

I have attempted to use Migration Assistant using both the built-in wireless in both computers. Both will connect to the Internet on Verizon Wireless, but when connected to each other, Migration Assistant will not connect. Migration Assistant also will not connect through an Ethernet connection (single cable connecting both machines, as recommended).

I am looking for a solution to get Migration Assistant to work before resorting to a brute force approach like turning on file sharing and just dragging stuff across piecemeal.

MacsWork 02-09-2011 11:17 PM

Try a firewire cable.

Most likely a firewire 400 to firewire 800 is what you need.

osxx 02-10-2011 12:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MacsWork (Post 1183784)
Try a firewire cable.

Most likely a firewire 400 to firewire 800 is what you need.

Thats the way i do it each time and the fastest I might add.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.