Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Upgrading 10.5 - 10.6 HELP! (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/226152-upgrading-10-5-10-6-help.html)

Sikander 01-12-2011 12:42 PM

Upgrading 10.5 - 10.6 HELP!
 
i have tried installing mac osx snow leopard and it said 'not enough RAM' so i read the requirements of what's needed to install it, and it specifies atleast 1GB ram so i've looked on my Macbook and its says it only has 512MB i believe..
is there anything i can do?

Thanks

pigoo3 01-12-2011 12:51 PM

Yes...the answer is to upgrade your MacBook's ram to 1 gigabyte.:)

- Nick

Sikander 01-12-2011 12:58 PM

Hmm, how much can i get one for?
and i haven't a clue on how to put it in :[

pigoo3 01-12-2011 01:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sikander (Post 1168414)
Hmm, how much can i get one for?
and i haven't a clue on how to put it in :[

If you don't have a clue how to put it in...then maybe this isn't a project for you.;)

Actually it is very easy :)...you can go to:

iFixit: The free repair manual

...and they have instructions on how to do it. You can also search the internet...and probably find 50 or more "Do It Yourself" instructions & videos on how to do it.

To get the ram you need...try one of these guys:

OWC
Crucial

Hope this helps,

- Nick

Sikander 01-12-2011 01:25 PM

but i wanted to upgrade me OS :(
haha thanks a lot Nick ill take a look :)

Sikander 01-15-2011 06:05 PM

errr, ive found the one i need and my question is.. there are 2 slots, do i have to fill up both slots? or can i just put a 1GB RAM in? oh and if i put the 1gb ram in can i also put my 256MB RAM in the other one? :D
thanks

chscag 01-15-2011 06:53 PM

The maximum amount of memory for that machine is 2 GB. You need to buy 2 x 1GB modules and install them. That means removing both 256MB modules. See Nick's reply about ifixit and where to buy.

Don't mix modules, always use two of the same kind.

chas_m 01-16-2011 04:09 AM

And I *highly* recommend upgrading to 2GB of RAM. I know it says you only need 1GB, but trust me ... it's money well spent to get 2GB.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.