New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Help with simple program for terminal

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

NOYB111

NOYB111 is on a distinguished road

I am new to MAC's for the most part. I want to write q quick small program to change directory and execute a command string. How can I write and compile this file so I can execute it from terminal? Something simple like -

cd ~/desktop/temp
./something -1 blah blah

I know this should be pretty simple. In the PC world I would just create a bat file.

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
vansmith

vansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond reputevansmith has a reputation beyond repute
Mac Specs: 2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)

Simply put those commands in a text document (make sure it's plain text). Open up terminal and type the following to make it executable:
Code:
chmod +x <name of file>
Replace <name of file> with the name of the file. All you have to do now is execute it like you would an application:
Code:
./<script name>

Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
M-F Blog :: Write for the blog