Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Changing System's 'Computer' icon... (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/225069-changing-systems-computer-icon.html)

pod 01-02-2011 09:03 PM

Changing System's 'Computer' icon...
 
How do I change my OS X Tiger G4 iBook's 'Computer' icon? (found under 'Go' off the desktop's top menu bar and also seen in the sidebar of Finder windows).

Currently for some reason it shows a G4 iMac icon (the old 'snowball' iMac). I'd like to change it to an iBook icon if possible.

Thanks

McYukon 01-02-2011 09:13 PM

I'm not sure that it can be changed easily, AFAIK the system looks at your machine type and then chooses an icon out of the CoreTypes package.
In my case it's at /System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle/Contents/Resources/com.apple.macbookpro-15-unibody.icns

pod 01-02-2011 09:32 PM

Thanks. If its going to be a pain to change it, I'll forget it.

Incidentally, I can only get as far as 'System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle'. When trying to progress to 'Contents/Resources' I get the message 'there is no default application specified to open the document CoreTypes.bundle'.

s2odin 01-02-2011 09:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pod (Post 1162905)
Thanks. If its going to be a pain to change it, I'll forget it.

Incidentally, I can only get as far as 'System/Library/CoreServices/CoreTypes.bundle'. When trying to progress to 'Contents/Resources' I get the message 'there is no default application specified to open the document CoreTypes.bundle'.

You have to right click -> Explore or Open... I forget.

McYukon 01-02-2011 09:46 PM

Oh yeah, thanks s2odin. Its right click and "View Package Contents"

pod 01-02-2011 09:52 PM

Thanks s2odin. Right, I'm in and can see the 'imac.icns' file.

Is it just a case of copying an existing iBook icon in to/over the existing iMac one that shows at the top of the 'get info' window?

roflitskyle 01-02-2011 09:55 PM

Yes that should do the trick of pasting it in the Get Info window. Click on the icon and you will see a blue hora around the icon, then you can press command v to paste it in.

pod 01-03-2011 08:44 AM

''Yes that should do the trick''

Nope. That particular icon seems to be locked/uneditable...

JUKE179r 01-03-2011 01:23 PM

*Proceed with caution!

In the info window, click on the lock at the bottom and type in your admin password,
change "everyone" rights to "read and write",
replace icon at top of info window,
change "everyone" rights back to "read",
click lock at bottom and close info window.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.