Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Set firmware password on MBA without using Remote Install? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/224040-set-firmware-password-mba-without-using-remote-install.html)

palefire 12-23-2010 06:04 PM

Set firmware password on MBA without using Remote Install?
 
Is it possible to set a firmware password on a MacBook Air without using Remote Install Mac OS X?

I've been trying to use Remote Install, without success -- after booting while holding down option, and then selecting the Mac OS X installation disk as the startup volume, the MBA seems to just boot to my hard drive anyway. (The MBA is running 10.6.5. I've trying to Remote Install from an iMac, over a wireless network, and using disk 1 of the 10.5.4 installation DVDs.)

bobtomay 12-23-2010 07:39 PM

If your Mac shipped with 10.6, I've yet to see anyone have success downgrading to 10.5.

And if that 10.5 disc shipped with another Mac, for sure not gonna work. Those are system type specific.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.