Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1


    Member Since
    May 02, 2007
    Posts
    7
    Re-assign F4 from dashboard to app windows
    Hi everyone,

    I have tried searching for this but cannot find the answer.

    I have the new MacBook Air and want to switch my F4 key from dashboard to display the windows open in the current application.

    Changing that in System>Expose & Spaces does nothing. I can change it in Keyboard>Keyboard Shortcuts (by activating "Use all F1...keys as standard function keys") but then I lose volume and screen brightness adjustment. I can't seem to program those options as keyboard options.

    Any ideas what to do?

    Thanks

    Will

  2. #2

    Buzzard2010's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location
    Bretforton, Worcestershire
    Posts
    2,571
    Specs:
    MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
    There have been a few threads about this before, don't think anyone came up with an absolute answer in the end. To make some changes though go to System Preferences > Keyboard > Keyboard Shortcuts, you can make some changes in there. Hope this helps.

    - Simon

    If you have been helped, don't forget to use the Reputation system at the top right of their post.
    May 2011
    Nominated: March 2011 & April 2011

  3. #3


    Member Since
    May 02, 2007
    Posts
    7
    Thanks, but as I indicated in my post, Keyboard>Keyboard shortcuts doesn't work as any settings there are overridden by the hardware controls.

    In Keyboard>Keyboard shortcuts I have F4 set to all windows in app, but it's overridden by the hardware setting to have F4 be for the dashboard.

  4. #4

    Buzzard2010's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 22, 2010
    Location
    Bretforton, Worcestershire
    Posts
    2,571
    Specs:
    MacBook Pro 15" 2014, 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 250GB SSD, OSX 10.9.5 - iPhone 5s 16gb
    If you go to System Preferences > Keyboard in the "Keyboard" tab there is the option to select "Use all F1, F2 etc keys as standard function keys", select this then you have to hold down the "Fn" key to use the F keys for the functions that are printed on the keyboard.

    - Simon

    If you have been helped, don't forget to use the Reputation system at the top right of their post.
    May 2011
    Nominated: March 2011 & April 2011

  5. #5


    Member Since
    May 02, 2007
    Posts
    7
    Yep I'd prefer not to have to get an extra key involved.

    All I want to do is have F4 show all the application windows. I don't understand why Apple has to make this so difficult.

  6. #6


    Member Since
    Sep 09, 2009
    Location
    Down Under :D
    Posts
    5,484
    Specs:
    Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
    Is there any reason you don't want to use hot corners to do this?
    One very simple, quick trackpad gesture to the corner.

    or Fn + F10

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. custom dashboard type app
    By davidcoad in forum OS X - Apps and Games
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-26-2010, 10:13 PM
  2. app/utility that will assign an screen edge to a key combo
    By Dans564 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-19-2009, 10:15 PM
  3. Weather Dashboard App
    By hexonxonx in forum OS X - Apps and Games
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-09-2007, 01:58 AM
  4. Assign IP for Mac
    By macbook203 in forum Internet, Networking, and Wireless
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-14-2006, 02:30 PM
  5. Dashboard Widgets behind other windows
    By Thrasher6670 in forum OS X - Operating System
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-2005, 11:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •