New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

iPad sync with Snow Leopard

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Roadstone

Roadstone is on a distinguished road

Hi all,

I'm a Mac newbie. That said, have worked in the Unix / Windows world for a while (so not a complete newbie to IT related issues). I have a client who is running Snow Leopard server at home with 3 iMacs connected and 1 Macbook Pro. He also has 3 iPads and an iPhone for members of his family. I've configured the Opendirectory services, along with the mail services and CardDev / iCal services, and all works internally. I'm now in the process of configuring his iPads. Whilst I have the imap / smtp services working nicely over SSL (mail is working), I am struggling to figure out the settings required to get the calendars and address book to sync. For the calendar account, I have added the details as follows:

Server - Public URL to the server
Username - Open Directory account login name
PAssword - Users password
Advanced Settings:
Use SSL - On
Port - 8443
Account URL - https://<server_url>:8443/principles/users/<login_name>

The Account URL seems to differ from the URL I see in the Calendar app on the iMac, but if I change the iPad config to match this I still do not get the correct calendar displaying / syncing.

On the address book front, I am struggling to find similar settings that would allow me to connect to the iPad to the address book.