New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Rename Home Folder or is there another way

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

LunchBox

LunchBox is on a distinguished road

Greetings,

I am a tech at a company with many windows boxes about 5 Macs.

I use my windows experience to troubleshoot Mac issues (just starting to learn and so far so good).

Anyways, I have a user who has problem saving files or opening files. The files take a lot longer then they should. Mainly the files are Adobe Illustrator. (located on the network)

If I or anyone else logs into the Mac those files open and save as they should.

The problematic user currently runs Snow Leopard (with all the updates) but used to run Leopard. One of my co-worker used time machine to backup the users files etc. I think something happened and something got corrupted.

I have googled and done quite a few things but nothing has worked yet.

The Macs are joined to a windows domain.

In the windows world to test my theory I would rename the users profile (same as the Home Folder) that is cached in the PC and when the user logs back in it would re-create the profile (home folder) with a new one from scratch. If my theory proves right I would then move only the files back into the profile folder (home folder).

Can this be done in a Mac as I would in windows? I did find how to rename the home folder but I do not know if it actually has the same purpose as what I would do in windows.