New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

"new" iBook G4 - RAM or other problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

smurfix

smurfix is on a distinguished road

Hi,

I'm new to MACs, I've just bought an iBook G4 running 10.3.9 (Panther?) from ebay. Everything seems to be working fine but I've tried downloading and using Open Office with the RAM (256Mb) it came with but OO doesn't start. I initially tried OO 3.2, when that didn't work I tried OO 2.2 and then 2.0 but OO still didn't start up.

I've bought an extra Gig of RAM, installed that but still no joy (1.25Gb shows in "About this MAC" so I'm presuming the new RAM is installed properly). I'm currently downloading OO 3.0 which apparently runs on MAC OSX 10.2 or later.

Am I doing something simple wrong ?

Just wondering (and will be very grateful) if someone can help me.

Thanks

Steve
QUOTE Thanks
smurfix

I think I might have found my problem. Open Office is only for Intel machines, I have a PowerPC and that therefore has pointed me towards a program I'd never heard of "NeoOffice". I'm downloading this and hoping that will work.

I did say I was a newbie :-)
QUOTE Thanks
pigoo3