New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Upgrade to 10.5.8 = problems!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

TreacherousV

TreacherousV is on a distinguished road

Hi everybody..

I have an intel-based iMac i've been using for about 4 years now if not 5. I've been running Tiger for bloody ages and haven't upgraded because I had Pro Tools M-Powered 7.1.1 (and alot of expensive extras) and didn't want to have to shell out for version 8. A flawed decision i know.

Last friday I was offered some freelance work which required me to install a recent version of Final Cut Pro and therefore required me to upgrade to Leopard (in a rush without fully preparing) and so now I'm running 10.5.8.

Obviously PT no longer works. Which I'm ok with (have come to terms with) cos I have Logic Pro 7 and I'm pretty sure that still runs with Leopard (don't have the usb key at this exact time so I haven't been able to test it but according to the site it should work?! )

There are several other issues i've come across tho (so far..) mainly GarageBand (3.0.5) runs really slow/crashes as soon as i try to import audio. Is this cos I'm still on iLife '06 (don't laugh). Also my screen keeps glitching. Weird turquoise watermarks where other windows have been and massively magnified sections (which disappear after a few seconds). Basically things ain't right.