Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Ethernet Connection (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/198093-ethernet-connection.html)

pupuplader 04-11-2010 01:01 AM

Ethernet Connection
 
With a Mac :Confused:I am 100 percent useless. I know a good deal about troubleshooting connections in windows but here I have no idea :Confused:.

My mother has a mac that she is trying to connect through ethernet. I have already checked the cable and that is not the problem. On the upper right there is a little phone icon that I click on and then click connect. After a couple of seconds it fails and says: "The connection failed because you have not entered a telephone number"

I am assuming that this is the internal modem trying to dial out, which is not what I want.

I clicked on the phone icon again and opened internet connections. Under File I opened up New connection window.

I set the Internal Modem to idle and went to the 802.1X and clicked connected. However it just sits there and says connecting and nothing happens.

Any ideas would be great, thanks

blackmac11 04-11-2010 01:10 AM

Try reading this over:

Mac OS X: Troubleshooting a cable modem, DSL, or LAN Internet connection

Also, what OS are you using? Other members might have knowledge of a known problem with a certain OS.

pupuplader 04-11-2010 01:41 AM

Went through those troubleshooting steps and still no go.

I opened System Preferences and under network tab the Built-in Ethernet, which is what I want to use to connect, has a red dot next to it. Next to that it says "The cable for the Built-in Ethernet is not plugged in"

I configured the Built-in Ethernet under the TCP/IP I set it to manually and filled in what was needed and still no go.

It is running OS X 10.3

Thanks for any help.

blackmac11 04-11-2010 01:47 AM

If the modem is relatively new, perhaps there is a compatibility error. 10.3 is a pretty old OS; the computer and the modem are having some difficulty communicating. I'm really not too sure where to go from here. :(

pupuplader 04-11-2010 02:22 AM

I have it connected to a Linksys WRTG54 v4 router if that makes any difference.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.