Thumbs down Best way to backup? (broken dashboard)
    Hi, as you'd expect i'm new to mac.

Being a curious devil i've been fiddling with the dock resources folder, and my backups appear to have not worked properly as i now can't right click on my dock and my dashboard wont load properly (dashboard items appear but no information and cant be interacted with).

Anyway I understand this is my own foolish fault, I'm not too heartbroken about having to reinstall OSX I was just wondering if there's an easy way to back up, if i copy my home folder is everything going to be covered? or Is it like windows where files and folders (such as browser favorites etc) could be scattered about everywhere?

Can applications be backed up just from the applications folder or should they be reinstalled manually after OSX is reinstalled

I have no external hard drive (yet) for time machine so that's not an option.

Thanks in advance, i've been lurking on this forum for a while and its really interesting.

Quote Originally Posted by JohnC86 View Post
    Hi, as you'd expect i'm new to mac.

Being a curious devil i've been fiddling with the dock resources folder, and my backups appear to have not worked properly as i now can't right click on my dock and my dashboard wont load properly (dashboard items appear but no information and cant be interacted with).

Anyway I understand this is my own foolish fault, I'm not too heartbroken about having to reinstall OSX I was just wondering if there's an easy way to back up, if i copy my home folder is everything going to be covered? or Is it like windows where files and folders (such as browser favorites etc) could be scattered about everywhere?
    The OS keeps all user files stored in your user folders. It's always possible that you have personally saved files anywhere, but outside of what you control, it's all there.

Can applications be backed up just from the applications folder or should they be reinstalled manually after OSX is reinstalled