New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

Question Mark in Toolbar

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

drjimmy

drjimmy is on a distinguished road

First I'd like to say I'm a relative newbie. I bought my first ever mac book pro just this last June. I can swear on my grandmothers grave I will never EVER switch back to PC. Why did I wait!
OK, on to my question. While learning about my macs finder app, I dragged a couple apps into the toolbar of the finder window so I could just click on them and not have to go to the apps folder to launch them. They were simple apps that gave me side by side views etc. The problem is that I dragged them from my downloads folder and not from my apps folder. So now that I have deleted the apps from the downloads folder, thinking I had also saved them in my apps folder, there are question marks where the app logo used to be. When I click on them it says "the item cannot be found" Is there any way to find out what app the question mark is trying to find? I liked one but the other I'm not sorry I lost. I cannot seem to be able to delete the question mark or find out what it is looking for. Am I stuck with these marks forever?
QUOTE Thanks
bobtomay