Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   HELP!! Installing OSX was tough, But NOW I'm hosed (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/17311-help-installing-osx-tough-but-now-im-hosed.html)

Aloel 04-18-2005 12:55 PM

HELP!! Installing OSX was tough, But NOW I'm hosed
 
I am on a G4 with 641M ram, 10G HD, 333mhz.
My computer would not install 10.3, kept getting errors.
So I got basic OSX from a friend and was able to install after upgrading to 9.2.2 from 9.1. I then upgraded from OSX to OSX.1.5 TERRIFIC!!

I felt like I was in heaven. So I figured maybe 10.3 will install now, and I tried.
It didn't install, some error AND it erased my OSX all together.

I'm a tenacious sort, ( I was using disk utility through each install attempt)so I backed up everything I had on my computer and went for a clean install _ ERASED IT ALL! Install failed.

I can't reinstall the Basic OSX after zapping pram, running disk utility and reformatting twice. None of my OSX CDs will install again. I'm back to 9.2.2 with just a few things not working well...like ancient browsers from installs. No firmware update needed on this machine either...I checked and tried an install.

What am I to do? Considering buying a new Mac mini but I want OSX on my G4 too!

HELLLPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

rman 04-18-2005 01:17 PM

Is your version of Panther a full version or an upgrade?

Aloel 04-18-2005 01:39 PM

Full version
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rman
Is your version of Panther a full version or an upgrade?

The installer asked if I wanted to upgrade, archive and install or to erase and install.

Avalon 04-18-2005 03:59 PM

Hmm..a G4 333MHz?!? That never existed...

Anyway, I had this kind of trouble too, OS9 ran fine, but when trying to install Panther, I had random errors and it was impossible to install.
It took me quite some time to find out that it was because of one memory module that seemed to be a little bit out of spec, and there was no way to make it work with Panther.

Aloel 04-18-2005 05:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Avalon
Hmm..a G4 333MHz?!? That never existed...

Anyway, I had this kind of trouble too, OS9 ran fine, but when trying to install Panther, I had random errors and it was impossible to install.
It took me quite some time to find out that it was because of one memory module that seemed to be a little bit out of spec, and there was no way to make it work with Panther.

It is a first run Power Mac G4 (AGP Graphics) 350 MHz, I thought it said 333MHz but I'm not on that computer now. Maybe its the iMac OS9 I had to install when the OS10.3 attempt hosed me. I began with the 8.6 that came with the G4...nowhere man.

I'll check the ram I installed. Who da thunk it could be THAT!

Avalon 04-18-2005 06:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aloel
It is a first run Power Mac G4 (AGP Graphics) 350 MHz, I thought it said 333MHz but I'm not on that computer now. Maybe its the iMac OS9 I had to install when the OS10.3 attempt hosed me. I began with the 8.6 that came with the G4...nowhere man.

I'll check the ram I installed. Who da thunk it could be THAT!

Yep, it took me quite some time too to figure that out...nevertheless, It doesn't mean that your issue is the same. But stil worth a try.

Aloel 04-19-2005 11:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Avalon
Yep, it took me quite some time too to figure that out...nevertheless, It doesn't mean that your issue is the same. But stil worth a try.

I'm having someone ELSE attempt to install OSX10.3. He claims to have been successful on 3 of his Macs including one like mine. I'll post the results hopefully tomorrow.

Avalon 04-19-2005 04:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aloel
I'm having someone ELSE attempt to install OSX10.3. He claims to have been successful on 3 of his Macs including one like mine. I'll post the results hopefully tomorrow.

Your Mac model isn't the problem...there must be some hardware issue somewhere, if the firmware is right.

I saw 10.3 running perfectly on a B&W G3.

Aloel 04-23-2005 07:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Avalon
Your Mac model isn't the problem...there must be some hardware issue somewhere, if the firmware is right.

I saw 10.3 running perfectly on a B&W G3.

A Friend installed it for me and its working GREAT! 10.3.9

Today I changed the password and installed several programs with no problem. Suddenly my last install for my keyboard wouldn't recognize my password. Anyone know how I can change it without the installer CDs?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.