Junk Files In System Folder/Library Folder
    I am fairly new to Macs and not exactly a "power user" so I was wondering if anyone could explain to me if it is ok/possible to clean up all the files that are stored in the Library/System folder when doing just about EVERYTHING on the internet. There are files from flash player, caches, preferences, and tons of other stuff I have no real idea about. I just see files from sites I visited who knows when and is just stored. Why? There are also files from applications and all kinds of stuff. Thanks for the help!

Specs:
    late 08 macbook 2.0 4gig 320hdd10.7.3 32 gig iPhone 4s

Specs:
    2012 13" MBP (2.5 i5, 8GB)
    Quote Originally Posted by nextiger View Post
    I am fairly new to Macs and not exactly a "power user" so I was wondering if anyone could explain to me if it is ok/possible to clean up all the files that are stored in the Library/System folder when doing just about EVERYTHING on the internet.
    Never touch anything in the System folder. If you do, you're asking for trouble especially if you aren't as you call it a "power user". The same goes for Library to a certain extent but since you are very unfamiliar with Macs, don't delete something if you don't know what it is.
    Important Links: Community Guidelines : Use the reputation system if you've been helped.
    M-F Blog :: Write for the blog
    Writing a Quality Post

Quote Originally Posted by vansmith View Post
    Never touch anything in the System folder. If you do, you're asking for trouble especially if you aren't as you call it a "power user". The same goes for Library to a certain extent but since you are very unfamiliar with Macs, don't delete something if you don't know what it is.