Firmware password exceptions?

Firstly, apologies if this is in the wrong place.. it's neither hardware or software related so I was a little torn about where to post

I work in a school and we're about to implement a laptop program across a few year levels.

Naturally we've been research hacks and security risks and ways to prevent students from exploiting them & I've been mucking around with a firmware password on a macbook, and it seems to be pretty handy at blocking access to the startup manager.

However - we'd really like to be able to use certain features (in particular netboot) while the password is in place. Is there any way to implement an exception to the firmware protection, allowing the use of netboot?

Alternatively, is there a way to allow use of any startup commands while the password is in place? (for example after entering the firmware password, [holding option key while booting] then holding N)

As far as I've read, we'd need to remove the firmware password, but I've been surprised by the cleverness of people here before, any insights you have would be appreciated.

Specs:
    27" iMac i5, 3.2 GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 5c, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, Yosemite
    I would advise against setting firmware passwords on those machines. If you've read the Apple KB articles concerning setting up a firmware password and the protection it offers, you should know that losing or forgetting a password pretty much renders the machine useless.

Yes, there are "ways" to get around a firmware password; somewhat easier on older machines and more difficult on the newer ones. But, as far as I know there is no way around other than entering the password to implement a net boot, or booting from an external device.

Regards.

Thanks for your answer
    Quote Originally Posted by chscag View Post
    But, as far as I know there is no way around other than entering the password to implement a net boot,
    That's exactly what I'm after... How is that achieved?