Specs:
    MacBook Pro.
    Installing Graphic Drivers on A G4...
    To All:
    Let me stare out by saying I'm an Apple newbie. No, let me begin by saying I'm a Linux man. Debian to be specific. Been using it for years. But I've always found Macs seductive. And now I've been completely seduced.

I've recently purchased an older G4. For the price, I couldn't resist. And I now have the Apple I've always wanted!!! Well, not that specific model. But I've got an Apple.

Here's my hardware:
    Machine Name: Power Mac G4 (AGP graphics)
    Machine Model: PowerMac3,1
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (2.9)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 450 MHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
    Memory: 1.5 GB
    Bus Speed: 100 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 4.2.8f1
    ATI Rage128Pro

My problem: I can view all streaming video - MSNBC, Fox, Apple Trailers, CNN, etc. But it's choppy. I don't think I have the video drivers install. Being new to Apple I don't know how to check for this. Or how to install the drivers for my old video card.

Question 1: How do I go about installing drivers for the old card?
    Question 2: Can I upgrade the AGP ATI card to something better or newer and how?

Any and all info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    AliOop.

Specs:
    27" 5K iMac, 3.3GHz, 256GB Flash Storge, 16GB memory and OS X.11.3.
    Not so much the drivers but a slow old processor and the machine probably comes fitted with the standard Rage 129 Pro graphics card. Whilst the processor will still be slow, look for an ATI Radeon 9000 Mac Pro card with 128MB memory.

That will be a big improvement on the Rage card. Do not expect too much however as these machines are now a decade old - and that is like dinosaur ages to computers. Even my G5 Dual Core at just over 3 years in antiquated lol! Here are the machine specs:-

Apple Power Macintosh G4 450 (AGP) Specs (Power Mac G4 - AGP - M7232LL/A*) @ EveryMac.com

Specs:
    MacBook Pro.
    Quote Originally Posted by harryb2448 View Post