New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.5 - Did my computer give my info out?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

Volt

First of all I am new to MAC, I bought a 24" iMac about a month ago and LOVE it.

On Sunday I received my weekly e-mail from a supplier that I use (techtoolsupply.com). In the e-mail there was a link to a Podcast, something I never listened to before. I clicked the link and an iTunes installation opened up, I decided against installing it at that time and I closed the window. Now that I look back it says "iTunes Podcast" and the link is: iTunes Store

Fast forward to yesterday, I check my bank account and see a $1 charge saying "CKCD AUTH 05/19 APL*ITUNES". That's my Visa check card that I've used many times on this new iMac.

I did some research and found that sometimes people who steal credit card numbers use it on iTunes to see if it works, so the owner of the card sees the $1 hold authorization.

However, this seems mighty coincidental. I open iTunes and very soon after I see that they did the normal $1 hold authorization, the same thing they would do if I had signed up with them.

So is there something on my iMac (such as Autofill) that could have given iTunes my info? Or is this definitely someone using my credit card?

Thanks!
QUOTE Thanks
Volt

Anyone?
QUOTE Thanks
chscag