Restart Issues with OSX 10.4.11

Hi:

I am baffled.

Quite often, for seemingly no reason, a translucent "screen" will come down, lock me out of all functions and my desktop, and tell me I have to restart. (It hasn't happened for a month, but it's happened twice today.)

Sometimes the restart works, sometimes my system freezes and I have to unplug.

After the restart, I can never pull up a report to discover what has happened.

I have not loaded any new software in almost a year.

I just don't understand what's going on. I've run Disk First Aid and have found nothing.

Any ideas on what I can do before I lose my mind - and the material I'm working on? I'd greatly appreciate any ideas.

I'm not a Mac novice, but I'm not comfortable with being a Mac brain surgeon, so I'd appreciate any step-by-step instructions if need be.

Thank you,

Bill

Specs:
    15" MBP, Core i7/2GHz, 8GB RAM, 480GB Crucial M500 SSD
    NOTE: Thread moved to more appropriate forum. Not a forum-specific comment/question or suggestion.
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

https://youtu.be/KHZ8ek-6ccc

Specs:
    What you are experiencing is known as a "Kernel Panic". KPs can occur for a variety of different reasons, most frequently if there is a problem with the disk structure or a hardware failure.

The first thing to do would be to open up Disk Utility (Applications => Utilities => Disk Utility). Then, do the following:

If the problem persists, run the Apple Hardware Test just to verify that your hardware is in good shape.

Let us know how it goes.
    Liquid and computers don't mix. It might seem simple, but we see an incredible amount of people post here about spills. Keep drinks and other liquids away from your expensive electronics!

Hi: