Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   How can I start multiple instance of an application (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/139008-how-can-i-start-multiple-instance-application.html)

yinglcs 01-27-2009 07:19 PM

How can I start multiple instance of an application

Hi,

I am new to MAC. How can I start multiple instance of an application?
e.g. I have a 'Terminal' application, a 'TextEdit' application in my dock.

When I click the icon, 1 instance get starts. But when I click the icon again,
it just raise the window of the application that I started. How can I have another instance of the application that I started?

Thank you.

torchy 01-27-2009 07:24 PM

Nope: Not on a Mac. One instance only.

You can bring up more windows of most apps.
TextEdit. File > New or use the quick keys 'command n' as often as necessary which has worked with all the apps I have tried it with.

yinglcs 01-27-2009 07:30 PM

Thank you.

Can you please tell me how can I configure 'Terminal' to always use 'Homebrew' color scheme?

Now, I need to do 'New Window->Homebrew'

Thank you.

torchy 01-27-2009 07:50 PM

Terminal > Preferences > New window with settings > drop down arrow.> Homebrew.

new window command n

The application preferences are always under their name on the menu bar.

t0nyb 07-13-2009 03:23 PM

i was wondering about instancing apps as well. separate instances of the same app as opposed to different windows. i don't think this is possible but because of my limited knowledge, i have to ask.

-tonyb

xstep 07-13-2009 04:19 PM

This may be possible (via a hack of duplicating the application) but not recommended since the duplicated open applications would all be messing with the same preferences file.

russell23 07-13-2009 08:01 PM

@ torchy,