New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.5 - Best way to Copy data on a single dvd to both a Mac and a PC?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

wtdedula

wtdedula is on a distinguished road

Hello All;
I am fairly new to the Mac though I've used a PC for a long time. I am trying to solve a problem. I need to release a whole bunch of data for the PC and Mac on a series of four DVD's. An easy solution would be to create an individual set of four DVD's (Each) for the PC and Mac for a total of 8 DVD's. However, since the data for both formats is identical, I'd rather release a series of four DVD's rather than 8 with an a separate executable for each format to install on each machine.

I've already gotten this to work using the following shell script ...

cp -r "/Volumes/East 0N-75N/data" "/Applications/marsflight.app/Contents/MacOS"

However, it seems as you need Terminal to run this even after you set the execute bit and I'd rather give users an executable program they can just click on (without going through terminal) ? Is there any way to do this ?

I have also thought of going through Applescript but can't figure out the syntax. Here's what I have so far ...

tell application "Finder" to duplicate folder "/Volumes/East 0N-75N/data" to folder "/Applications/marsflight.app/Contents/MacOS"
end tell