New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.5 - Simple question - Copying a directory structure from a CD to the Hard Drive

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

wtdedula

wtdedula is on a distinguished road

Hello All;
I am trying to do a very simple thing but I got a really unexpected result today. I want to point out that I am very new to the IMac. I did a google search to try to get help/clarification but that was no help so I post here.

I've installed some software which has burried in its directory structure some data representing the Digital Elevation data for the surface of the planet Mars. In order to install the rest of the data, I need to copy a directory stored on a DVD-ROM which has thousands of subdirectories and data on it. When I copy this to the Hard Disk, I was hoping that it would just add to the existing directory (As happens on a PC) but it seeems to delete the existing directory structure and only copy the data from the DVD. I need the stuff on disk to APPEND to the data on HD, not delete it. Anyone know how this may be accomplished.

If you're confused about what I'm trying to do, let me try to explain it another way.

Directory structure on the DVD - data\scenery\Terrain\w010n00\w001n00\2938496.btg

Data structure on Hard Drive - Macintosh HD\Applications\marsflight\Contents\MacOS\data\sce nery\Terrain\w010n00\w001n00\2938496.btg