New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

 
Start a Discussion
 

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.5 - using f5 function key to get to address bar in safari


Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

 
Thread Tools
Straitsfan

 
Member Since: Feb 03, 2008
Posts: 138
Straitsfan is on a distinguished road

Straitsfan is offline
I set the preferences to use the function keys as standard function keys, with the ability to press control+f5 to go to the address bar in safar. It worked for a bit, but not now. It just highlights the back button (the arrown at the top left of the screen). What am I missing?
QUOTE Thanks
cuhnool

 
cuhnool's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 02, 2008
Location: Louisville
Posts: 1,502
cuhnool is a jewel in the roughcuhnool is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: MacBook 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo | 1GB RAM | OS X 10.6.3 | 250GB External HD | 8GB iPod Touch 1st Gen 3.1.3

cuhnool is offline
Uncheck the "Use all F1, F2, etc. keys as standard function keys" box.


QUOTE Thanks
Aptmunich

 
Aptmunich's Avatar
 
Member Since: Mar 09, 2004
Location: Munich
Posts: 9,075
Aptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant futureAptmunich has a brilliant future
Mac Specs: Aluminium Macbook 2.4 Ghz 4GB RAM, SSD 24" Samsung Display, iPhone 4, iPad 2

Aptmunich is offline
Command+L is the default shortcut...
QUOTE Thanks
cuhnool

 
cuhnool's Avatar
 
Member Since: Jun 02, 2008
Location: Louisville
Posts: 1,502
cuhnool is a jewel in the roughcuhnool is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: MacBook 2.1GHz Core 2 Duo | 1GB RAM | OS X 10.6.3 | 250GB External HD | 8GB iPod Touch 1st Gen 3.1.3

cuhnool is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aptmunich View Post
Command+L is the default shortcut...
Maybe he likes using the fn key!

I always knew command+L as selecting the address bar. I do that for google searches: command+L then hit tab and my Google search is ready to type in!

Just a neat little way of doing things quickly.

QUOTE Thanks
Santino

 
Santino's Avatar
 
Member Since: Sep 30, 2008
Location: Argentina
Posts: 224
Santino is on a distinguished road

Santino is offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuhnool View Post
I always knew command+L as selecting the address bar. I do that for google searches: command+L then hit tab and my Google search is ready to type in!
command+option+F

Intel iMac 24" 2.8Ghz / 4gb
PowerBook G4 12" 1.33Ghz / 1.25gb
2Gb Black iPod Nano 1G
Canon 30D, recently inherited!
QUOTE Thanks
Straitsfan

 
Member Since: Feb 03, 2008
Posts: 138
Straitsfan is on a distinguished road

Straitsfan is offline
Thanks. Sometimes ctrl +f5 works, sometimes it doesn't. It isn't working right now. I think it might be related to some other keystrokes/mouse clicks I used while opening some other pages, but I can't remember which one(s). Anyone out there with this problem as well? it'd be nice to use both options, but if command+L is the standard, I'll stick with that

I just noticed something after I wrote the above response. I was pressing ctrl + f7 and it highlighted the address bar in grey, which means you can't type an address. It then cycled through to the spotlight window, then back to the left arrow button (the right one wasn't lit) and then back to the address bar, this time in color. Now, after doing this, when I type ctrl + f5 the address bar is highlighted correctly. Is it possible this is some kind of bug that hasn't been addressed yet?
QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


« Worth Upgrading? | Installation setup, how to eject DVD »
Thread Tools

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Function Key JasonBourneOSX Switcher Hangout 3 06-20-2008 09:28 PM
Safari Status Bar Problem UserofMacOSX OS X - Operating System 3 03-03-2008 10:39 AM
safari location bar cjay Switcher Hangout 1 12-19-2005 08:56 PM
How do you delete the autocomplete address in the addres bar of safari?? nickm1122 OS X - Apps and Games 2 03-18-2005 09:21 AM
The Little Apple Logo in the URL address bar RobDreugan Web Design and Hosting 3 03-15-2004 04:27 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
X

Welcome to Mac-Forums.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this community the ultimate source for your Mac since 2003!


(4 digit year)

Already a member?