I am in the mood to wipe my OS X installation and start a-fresh. It's been getting a bit sluggish lately, and I've backed up the entire drive.

I want to keep Mail set up as it is with all my current messages etc, but not have copy my old account across as it kind of defeats the object of doing a fresh install. But my question is this...

If I copied across the User/Library/Mail folder from the back up to the fresh install would that put Mail back to as it is now i.e. before the fresh install?

My emails are the only thing I want to keep in the fresh install... Any help would be great. Thanks!