Specs:
    Mac Pro dual Quad core, 8G ram 30" Cinema
    OSX 10.5.5 System problems
    Brief summary of the problems I'm encountering. My system has been running fine with no issues at all. Recently I installed an update to OSX and a couple of other applications. Since then my system will hang on shutdown, restart. I have Firefox, Safari and other applications now hanging as well since these updates were installed.

Is anyone else having these problems?

Machine Specs:

Mac Pro
    Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Processor Speed: 2.8GHz
    Number of processors: 2
    Number of Cores: 8
    Memory: 8GB
    Bus speed: 1.6GHz

Software:
    System Version: Mac OS X 10.5.5
    Kernel Version: Darwin 9.5.0

I have jumped over from my windows workstation to Mac about 6-8 months ago and I should have made the jump many years ago but did not. I've been working with FreeBSD and Linux for 15 years now so the jump over to Mac OS X has been seemless.

Does anyone have any advice on this problem? I do NOT feel like reinstalling/configuring this box because I feel that the problem has been with the updates. Any help out there?

TIA,

T

Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, El Capitan
    Not sure I can help you but I can tell you that I too had problems with the latest update to Leopard (10.5.5). It broke one of my applications (hurricane tracking program) and has injected instability into certain power settings that I use with an external monitor.

Most folks have installed this update without problems but there are quite a few reports such as yours and mine in other Mac forums. You might want to read through some of them on the Apple sponsored forum.

I had made a complete backup before installing the update so it was easily removed without difficulty. I'm back to running 10.5.4. I think I'll wait until Apple publishes 10.5.6 before I attempt to update the OS again.

Regards.

Specs: