Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Panther Install Question (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/12339-panther-install-question.html)

christopherlenn 01-03-2005 11:55 PM

Panther Install Question
 
I have OSX 10.2.8 on my G4 Dual 1.0 Ghz tower. I use mainly audio applications (Protools, Peak, etc.) on this computer. I want to upgrade some of the audio software, which requires that I upgrade my OS from 10.2.8 to 10.3.5. I have heard conflicting information, so I would like help with the following.
1.)If I use the archive and install feature, will I lose my software applications?
2.)If I choose the archive and install, I have read ("Tracking the Big Cats" by Jim Bates) that it would be best NOT to Preserve User and Network Functions, if you have many Unix-specific applications. isn't the Mac Unix-based, and therefore ALL my current applications are Unix-specific?
Thanks All!!
Happy New Year!!
:p

Macman 01-04-2005 12:00 AM

1. no, all will remain, apps, users, settings, files, etc.
2. yes mac os X is unix based, no, all apps are not unix specific, I think only the apps that use x11 and x-code are unix specific, so if your not developing software on your mac, it should be ok.
Though its usually best to do an erase and install when going from one major OS to another, ie. 10.2.x to 10.3.x. it can cause conflicts and oter problems down the line.

christopherlenn 01-04-2005 12:25 AM

Vincent-
"Though its usually best to do an erase and install when going from one major OS to another, ie. 10.2.x to 10.3.x. it can cause conflicts and oter problems down the line."
The full erase and install can cause probs down the line?, or NOT doing the full install?
Also- So I SHOULD preserve users and network settings; would there be any harm in not preserving them-starting from scratch so to speak(and as close as possible to a full clean install as is possible under the archive and install selection)
cl

Macman 01-04-2005 12:29 AM

perserving user and network settings will cause no problems, its installed drivers and extensions for 10.2.x that may and sometimes will cause problems later with drivers or extensions installed for 10.3.x.

christopherlenn 01-04-2005 01:00 AM

is that just part of doing business then?

Macman 01-04-2005 01:27 AM

not really, its just smart, to prevent any possible problems, but it only causes problems if you install lots of soft/hardware after the upgrade that installs drivers or extensions
that will conflict later with your old stuff.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.