Question Backup from Core Duo, Restore in Core2 Duo system
    Hello all

Apologies if this isn't the right forum for my question. I'm still a noob at this.

I have a 1st gen macbook pro (core duo based) for work and its served me fine. I now have a chance to upgrade to a current macbook, which is core2 duo based (and better specs). And I'd like to do it with little disruption.

I backup everything on my macbook pro with time-machine. Can I simply restore all that to my macbook? Does the core duo => core2 duo change make any difference? All I know is that the former is 32-bit and the latter is 64-bit? I'm guessing no, but I don't want to find out after the macbook arrives and all. BTW, my mac book pro is running Leopard right now; else I wouldn't have the backups :-)

thanks

Srini

Specs:
    Late 2013 27" iMac, iPad 3, iPhone 6s+, iPhone 6+, 3 iPods, Sierra
    Quote Originally Posted by srinivas1729 View Post
    Hello all

Apologies if this isn't the right forum for my question. I'm still a noob at this.

I have a 1st gen macbook pro (core duo based) for work and its served me fine. I now have a chance to upgrade to a current macbook, which is core2 duo based (and better specs). And I'd like to do it with little disruption.

I backup everything on my macbook pro with time-machine. Can I simply restore all that to my macbook? Does the core duo => core2 duo change make any difference? All I know is that the former is 32-bit and the latter is 64-bit? I'm guessing no, but I don't want to find out after the macbook arrives and all. BTW, my mac book pro is running Leopard right now; else I wouldn't have the backups :-)

thanks

Srini
    As long as you have everything backed up with Time Machine (preferably on an external HDD) you should have no problem restoring to the new machine.