Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Operating System (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/)
-   -   Leopard problems HELP!!! (iam a newb) (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/103947-leopard-problems-help-iam-newb.html)

hank l 04-07-2008 10:38 PM

Leopard problems HELP!!! (iam a newb)
 
Just tried to upgrade to Leopard and at first I was getting the Apple icon and the spinning w/no action. Finally got it to do something by restarting it while holding option and ran it off the disk. I then had to reinstall it. Now its asking for a name/password. It will not accept my username or password!!

help me out!!!!
thanks
henry

Soulwar 04-07-2008 10:44 PM

Have you tried leaving the fields blank and hit enter?
Try reseting the password also.
Which install method did you use?

Haw-Ky 04-07-2008 11:02 PM

Leopard needs 8 digits for your password, if you upgraded from 10.3 your will need to restart mac from install disk and change your password.

chscag 04-07-2008 11:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Haw-Ky (Post 630783)
Leopard needs 8 digits for your password, if you upgraded from 10.3 your will need to restart mac from install disk and change your password.

Are you sure of that? I'm running Leopard and my password is less than 8 digits.

hank l 04-07-2008 11:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Soulwar (Post 630779)
Have you tried leaving the fields blank and hit enter?
Try reseting the password also.
Which install method did you use?

By which method I'm going to say upgrade from Leopard DVD.

When I hit enter the box just shakes. I tried the different ways of resetting the password and running it from the DVD and still nothing.

hank l 04-08-2008 12:10 AM

Do I need to do the Archive and Install?

Soulwar 04-08-2008 01:02 AM

Yes, on the Archive and Install. Just upgrading, has been causing problems. If it still gives you a problem afterwards, do the Erase and Install.
I would recommend the Erase and Install now, if there's nothing you need saved.

hank l 04-08-2008 01:16 AM

But will that erase everything from my computer? I have tried everything but this.

harryb2448 04-08-2008 02:21 AM

hank we all need backups and an external HDD is the go used with Time Machine or SuperDuper, and Firewire. If you backup to an external drive then consider an erase and install.

Soulwar 04-08-2008 11:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hank l (Post 630873)
But will that erase everything from my computer? I have tried everything but this.

That's why I mentioned if there's nothing you need. As Harryb said, we all need a backup. As you can see, a little problem can turn into a larger one.
But by all means, do the Archive and Install option first. And use the Erase and Install as a last resort.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.