New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Operating System General OS operation information and support

OS 10.3 - OS X Problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

molder

molder is on a distinguished road

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to macs, but got my friends old Powerbook G4. I wanted to reformat it and had to buy the discs for the OS (as the apple store didn't have what I needed). The guy told me it was the first G4 that was made (around late 2002/early 2003) and that I would need Panther 10.3. Currently it has 10.2.8 loaded on it. He told me to look on ebay and I bought Panther 10.3.7. When I try to install it, it says "Bundled software cannot be installed on this machine." Does anybody know why this is the case or what I can do/which OS I can get to make this work? The only visible requirements for Panther to me I meet (I have 768mb ram). Any help I would GREATLY appreciate!
QUOTE Thanks
molder

So I THINK it is because I need the retail discs, and that is NOT what I have. If this is so, what OS do you recommend upgrading to that this will support? It says A1025 on the back and is the first Powerbook G4 Titanium.
QUOTE Thanks
Lifeisabeach