New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus • Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts • Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Development and Darwin Discussion and questions about development for Mac OS X.

invoking an application with in another application

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

sharada

Hai ,
i am new to mac.i donot know how to do the things here .

i want to create two applications , i.e. app1 and app2.

All app1 does is invokes app2 if not started. Sleeps for some time (i.e. 60 sec). Then exits.
App1 basically invokes app2 the very first time it is run. Next instance of App1 simply checks to see if App2 is running. If so, prints a message like App2 is already running. So both App1 instances will essentially communicate with App

When one instance of App1 exits, we do not shutdown App2 (since other instance of App1 can still be talking to it).

When second instance of App1 exits (last instance of App1), it shuts down App2 and then exits.i want to write these two applications in "C".

please help me regarding this , if possible send me some code samples.

Thanks & Regards,
sharada..
QUOTE Thanks
rman

rman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud of
Mac Specs: 2 x 3.0GHz Quad-Core, 6GB OS X 10.6.8 | 15in MacBook Pro 2.2GHz OS X 10.6.8 | 64GB iPad 2 WiFi