New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Development and Darwin Discussion and questions about development for Mac OS X.

newbie help (dumb terminal settings?)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

CaptainMack

i am new to this (as in started yesterday) and whenever i start up it says i am using dumb terminal settings. can i change this because i think it prevents me from doing stuff.
here is exactly what it says in case you need it:

Last login: Thu Jan 15 14:10:25 on ttyp1
Welcome to Darwin!
tcsh: Cannot open /etc/termcap.
tcsh: using dumb terminal settings.
QUOTE Thanks
rman

rman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud ofrman has much to be proud of
Mac Specs: 2 x 3.0GHz Quad-Core, 6GB OS X 10.6.8 | 15in MacBook Pro 2.2GHz OS X 10.6.8 | 64GB iPad 2 WiFi

Not knowing what you may have done. Did you make any change to tcsh shell environment?

There is normally a dot file that control or defines your environment. An example woulod be in csh (c-shell) the .cshrc file, in sh (borne shell) and ksh (korn shell) there is the .profile. I currently don't know what tcsh (trusted shell) uses.
QUOTE Thanks
CaptainMack

i havent changed anything (that i know of)
QUOTE Thanks
rman