New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Development and Darwin Discussion and questions about development for Mac OS X.

best GUI option for my simple needs?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

cowboytaketwo

cowboytaketwo is on a distinguished road

I'm brand new to C++. I need to build an app on OSX Lion with xcode that has a very simple GUI. I'd like a fullscreen black window (no menu bar, scrolling, or resizing - just a black screen). In this window I'd like to have minimalist clickable buttons that are single color rectangles with text inside, in a custom layout. That's it. I'd prefer no other pre-designed GUI artifacts of any kind on screen.

As far as CPU usage, I'd like to find the most lightweight way of accomplishing this. Cocoa, wxWidgets? Is there a better option out there? Thanks for your help.
QUOTE Thanks
xstep

xstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to allxstep is a name known to all
Mac Specs: 2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid

Cocoa, Objective-C, and the Apple documentation which includes building full screen apps.

You can use C++ to build GUI apps as I recall, but it's a hassle as the system is all about using Objective-C the non-C++ frame works.

CameraTime - Time lapse photography for novice and advanced users.