Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Development and Darwin (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-development-darwin/)
-   -   Terminal Tabs (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-development-darwin/137643-terminal-tabs.html)

scathe 01-18-2009 12:41 PM

Terminal Tabs
 
ok this might not be the best place for the thread, but ...

is there a way to name the tabs in a Mac Terminal?? now if i have more terminal windows, each just says bash and I have to cycle through them to see which it is ...

any suggestions are welcome

jpimbert 01-25-2009 10:10 AM

The content of the Term Windows Title is set via the preferences of Terminal.

You can also set the Title programmaticaly. For example in shell
Code:

echo -ne "\e]2;Title\a\e]1;Title\a"

mystic_fm 01-25-2009 10:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jpimbert (Post 793482)
The content of the Term Windows Title is set via the preferences of Terminal.

You can also set the Title programmaticaly. For example in shell
Code:

echo -ne "\e]2;Title\a\e]1;Title\a"

Those methods set the title of the whole Terminal window, but I'm pretty sure the OP was looking for a way to set the title of each tab within a Terminal window, which (when visible) always contains the name of the currently running program in that tab (most often "bash"). He wants to see the name before he clicks on it, whereas when the whole window title is changed he can only see the name after he's made that tab active. I'd like to be able to set the tab titles too, but I don't think it is possible.

Nice escape sequence for the echo statement, nonetheless ... I didn't know that one.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:35 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.