New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Development and Darwin Discussion and questions about development for Mac OS X.

X server

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

wiz561

Hi!

I'm new to the mac os and I know that this is probably a really simple answer, but it's really bugging me now since I've been trying to fix it for two days!

OK, I have a mac os 10.3.6. My whole goal is to open a terminal session (not go into apps/utils/x11), but a terminal session. Then I was to run X apps from within the terminal session. A great example is ssh'ing over to another machine and running a X interface from the machine I ssh'ed into on my mac.

However, for now, I thought I would start simple and start local. I have installed xcode_tools from the apple web site, and it looks like it installed the X components because I can start the X11 program from apps/utils/x11. From within the X11 terminal, I can start xclock with no problems and it works just fine. However, when I open the terminal and run it from there, I get...

$ xclock
Error: Can't open display: :0.0
$

It's really frustrating because I've read numerous FAQ's on how to fix this but really nothing works for me! I believe I'm running bash (the terminal window goes "text - bash". One faq said to add this to your rc file. I plopped it in /etc/bashrc

---
# do display thing to open X
if [ ${#DISPLAY} -eq 0 ]; then
export DISPLAY=':0.0'
fi
---