Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Apps and Games (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/)
-   -   iCal Help (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/92050-ical-help.html)

eric06 01-12-2008 02:13 PM

iCal Help
 
Is there any way to add iCal to the finder bar so it shows what day it is? I looked through iCal but can't find an option for it.

ShadowSpandex 01-12-2008 03:06 PM

1 Attachment(s)
You could try MenuCalanderClock for iCal which will put the date # in a little icon which you can click to drop down a calander with some ical intergration, but it's shareware and now has a dock icon you can't get rid of while the program is running.

If you just want something like the screenshot below, try this tip.

Lifeisabeach 01-12-2008 03:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eric06 (Post 568924)
Is there any way to add iCal to the finder bar so it shows what day it is? I looked through iCal but can't find an option for it.

Oh you don't need any extra software to do that. There's a real simple trick involving copying/pasting fields in the International Preferences.
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...50508000838365

http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/2212/..._date_menu_bar

EDIT: Note... this trick only good for Tiger and Leopard

eric06 01-13-2008 12:48 AM

I followed the tutorial but the finder bar only shows Sat 10:48 PM no date.

Lifeisabeach 01-13-2008 07:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eric06 (Post 569326)
I followed the tutorial but the finder bar only shows Sat 10:48 PM no date.

Then you didn't follow it correctly. I am assuming that by Finder bar, you mean the menu bar...

ShadowSpandex 01-13-2008 02:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eric06 (Post 569326)
I followed the tutorial but the finder bar only shows Sat 10:48 PM no date.

Try using 'Long' instead of 'Medium' that works for me

eric06 01-13-2008 03:06 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I did everything exactly like http://www.tech-recipes.com/rx/2212/..._date_menu_bar.

I can see the change in Mail but it doesn't show up on the menu bar. The menu bar also went blank for about a minute then things came back.

It shows the "--" but nothing else. I have attached a screen shot.

I have been having several problems with Leopard going psycho so maybe that's why it's not showing up.

ShadowSpandex 01-13-2008 10:49 PM

Try setting the format to LONG instead of MEDIUM, that setting works for me and others who had the same problem.

eric06 01-13-2008 11:18 PM

5th time is charm I guess. It worked.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.