Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Apps and Games (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/)
-   -   QT Fullscreen Playback Choppy in Leopard? (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/91327-qt-fullscreen-playback-choppy-leopard.html)

ehmjay 01-06-2008 10:36 PM

QT Fullscreen Playback Choppy in Leopard?
 
Ever since switching to leopard I find that if I try to run videos in fullscreen they play back slow and choppy. However when I play them in VLC they run fine.

Im not sure if its a codec issue (i have perian installed) but im not sure, perhaps it's just quicktime??

At first I thought it might just be Xvid/Divx files, but it's also occuring with my own films that I've exported from Final Cut.

Fiasco 01-08-2008 02:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ehmjay (Post 564443)
Ever since switching to leopard I find that if I try to run videos in fullscreen they play back slow and choppy. However when I play them in VLC they run fine.

Im not sure if its a codec issue (i have perian installed) but im not sure, perhaps it's just quicktime??

At first I thought it might just be Xvid/Divx files, but it's also occuring with my own films that I've exported from Final Cut.

What are your system specs?

ehmjay 01-08-2008 05:32 PM

Just thought I would mention this is on a 1.5 GHz Powerbook G4 with 1.25 gb.

My big monitor is running at 1440x900 butt even on my laptop at 1024x768 its a little laggy.

also I should note that even at "fit to screen" it runs perfectly fine, its just when it goes into full screen mode that I get the lag.

ehmjay 01-16-2008 02:33 PM

bump bump bump

northy124 01-16-2008 03:30 PM

I don't find that problem and i have a wide variety of films and music videos. Using MacBook 2.16GHz, 1GB Ram at max res.

ehmjay 01-16-2008 03:32 PM

this is so weird... i mean it could be my processor speed (1.5 ghz) but i have 1.25 gb ram, and it always ran FINE in tiger - and also works just fine in VLC...

i know some people are having troubles and its probably a QT issue but I have no idea... perhaps a codec thing? Maybe I'll just go visit an apple store...

northy124 01-16-2008 03:34 PM

Have you updated the software as there is and update that was released yesterday

northy124 01-16-2008 03:35 PM

Oh it sometimes happens if you have multi windows open

ehmjay 01-17-2008 10:57 AM

i have updated the software, and i assume by multi-windows you mean multiple QT windows - which was not the case...

...apprently this is common for PPC users - we'll have to keep waiting and see.

northy124 01-17-2008 12:21 PM

No i meant multi windows as in all windows open for different programs

xstep 01-17-2008 05:27 PM

I saw this problem mentioned before Christmas. The conclusion seemed to be that is was a QuickTime issue but maybe even a low level Leopard issue too. Some people saw it while others didn't. I can't remember where I saw this mentioned, but I would check on the Apple forums.

Apple just released Qt 7.4 so you might want to try upgrading to that. IF you are not a pro doing some kind of video/audio editing.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.