New To Mac-Forums?

Welcome to our community! Join the discussion today by registering your FREE account. If you have any problems with the registration process, please contact us!

Get your questions answered by community gurus Advice and insight from world-class Apple enthusiasts Exclusive access to members-only contests, giveaways and deals

Join today!

Start a Discussion

Mac-Forums Brief

Subscribe to Mac-Forums Brief to receive special offers from Mac-Forums partners and sponsors

Join the conversation RSS
OS X - Apps and Games Discussion of applications and games available for Mac OS X.

View Poll Results:
0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Growl

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe

knightjp

knightjp is an unknown at this point
Mac Specs: Mac Mini Core 2 Duo w/ 4GB ram running OS X Lion

Hey guys...

A friends suggested Growl to me as a nice application to have installed...
Considering I'm new to the Mac scene and do not know much about the mac applications, could someone tell me exactly what is growl and how does it work??? Is it of any use to any of you???
QUOTE Thanks
dtownley1

dtownley1 is a jewel in the roughdtownley1 is a jewel in the roughdtownley1 is a jewel in the rough
Mac Specs: macbook

growl is basically a notification program. Applications such as iTunes and Adium will work with it - so when certain events occur, growl displays a message of that event. A new track for iTunes starts, it'll show the track info and cover art. A friend signs on to Adium (in case you don't know, this is a superior alternative to MSN for mac) and a little message pops up letting you know. There are a number of themes to choose from for growl appearance. It's a great little app that really helps you keep an eye on what's going on on your mac.