Mac Forums

Mac Forums (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/)
-   OS X - Apps and Games (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/)
-   -   Save as and attach file problems (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-apps-games/59818-save-attach-file-problems.html)

rew70 04-18-2007 10:24 AM

Save as and attach file problems
 
I'm new to the forum and hope I am in the right place. If not, please forgive and point me in the right direction.

Running PPC G5 with Adobe Creative Suite and MS Office. Just the other day I started having a problem with saving files and attaching files. When in a program like Illustrator, I go to save a file and pick the folder (MAC HD/MacFiles/Artwork/Filename.eps. When I reopen that file and make changes and go to "save as", I am returned to MacFiles instead of Artwork.

In the dialog box, it always takes me back to the preceeding folder instead of the actual folder needed. I have uninstalled and reinstalled the Adobe software and that makes no difference. Similar peroblem when attaching files through Entourage, instead of taking me to the last folder I was in, I am directed to Users/myname/Documents every time.

Sorry so long. Can anyone help me resolve this problem? Do I really need to run a clean sweep on the G5 and start from scratch?

Thanks,
Andrew

giulio 04-18-2007 10:39 AM

This isn't an OS or Program issue. Its a setting somewhere... and I can't remember where it is. I'll try to recall for you though...

rew70 04-18-2007 10:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by giulio (Post 374701)
This isn't an OS or Program issue. Its a setting somewhere... and I can't remember where it is. I'll try to recall for you though...

Oh that would be amazing. Please let me know what this is, it's driving me nuts.

Thanks,
Andrew

coach_z 04-18-2007 11:09 AM

you might need to delete your preferences or caches for the application that is giving you a problem...but im not completely sure if that will help

-chris

rew70 04-18-2007 11:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by coach_z (Post 374719)
you might need to delete your preferences or caches for the application that is giving you a problem...but im not completely sure if that will help

-chris

Yeah I tried that first thing and no help. It's got to be a setting, but I can't find it.

NanoBite 04-19-2007 05:14 AM

For starters, create a new user account and report back if the problem persists. You could also download a maintenance app like OnyX and give your system a spring clean.

giulio 04-19-2007 08:47 AM

I think it might just be the way the progam works. Because in photoshop, if I save a file to the desktop, then throw that file in the trash... create a new photoshop document and save the new one, photoshop will think you want to save this new file in the same place as the old file. IN THE TRASH! haha. Apparently photoshop thinks I'm not that great an artist because it wants to store my files directly into the trash =)

rew70 04-19-2007 09:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pulse-8 (Post 375362)
For starters, create a new user account and report back if the problem persists. You could also download a maintenance app like OnyX and give your system a spring clean.

I created a test account and the problem is not present when doing that. This leads me to believe it's a network problem and have contacted IT about it. I only experienced the issue when connected through the test account. when not connected it performed as I wanted it to.

Anything I can do on my end?

Thanks

rew70 04-19-2007 09:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by giulio (Post 375463)
I think it might just be the way the progam works. Because in photoshop, if I save a file to the desktop, then throw that file in the trash... create a new photoshop document and save the new one, photoshop will think you want to save this new file in the same place as the old file. IN THE TRASH! haha. Apparently photoshop thinks I'm not that great an artist because it wants to store my files directly into the trash =)

Well that's just it. I want it to take me back to the last place I was and right now it's not doing that, it's taking me one step before where I was. I think it's a network issue, but I would like to try and fix this a bit quicker.

The IT guy is not MAC literate and I seem to do all the troubleshooting anyway. Thoughts?

Thanks


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.